top of page

TWO WORDS: SUMMER CAMPS



Hello, family and friends!

This summer is mostly summed up into two words, Summer Camps. As most of you know, I returned to Kyiv from my Bible Core Course at the end of June where several responsibilities awaited me. Though it was an extremely busy summer, God did so many amazing things that I would never have expected!

As I was preparing for this update, I had a decision to consider. I could either easily share all the amazing ways God revealed Himself hiding the messy hardships or... I could take the road less traveled and express the real life struggles with you. I know that real life is not easy and that we all struggle, so I hope that you can find hope through this honest update that shows even the ugly truth accompanied by how God's love rushes in right when we need it (even when we do not know we need it).

Therefore, truth be told, this summer was plain hard. I wish I could say that everything was smooth sailing and contained all happy experiences, but that would not be true. Some days were filled with confusion, loneliness, and feeling overwhelmed. I would wake up and instantly go through a mental checklist just to ensure I was on track and was not forgetting any important details. Honestly, there came a point when something fell through, or someone I was relying on didn't show up, or an unexpected challenge arose...again, I would just stand there numb of emotion. Followed by crying out to God to guide me to the solution...quickly. There was no time to react with emotion; I just needed to solve the problem and move on.


But, guess what? Even through all the hard times, God was with me EVERY step of the way! When I felt these negative emotions, He still turned all things for my good. (Romans 8:28) His presence, love, grace, and joy showed up to a point no one could deny it! After this season ended, I clearly saw how God touched so many lives (kids, team, volunteers, and mine) through the camps and experiences! This season revealed so many vital lessons. I learned that when you are going through a difficult season and you feel like you have no strength left... stop, breathe, and cry out to your heavenly Father who created the heavens and earth to give you the strength you need to carry on. Ask Him to give you a new and refreshed perspective on your current circumstance. Next, ask a trusted family member and/or friend for regular meetings of encouragement and prayer. Surround yourself with those that are genuinely in-love with our Abba Father. Lastly, allow the Lord to embrace you You've got this - remember we have the King of Kings on our side. Trust Him, He does not love as the world loves, but without conditions. <3 We could never gain the Father's love by our actions past, present, or future. (Titus 3:4-5)

 

I encourage you to reflect on these scriptures that reveal how our Father thinks about us!


  • Jeremiah 31:3

  • John 16:27

  • Romans 8:38-39

  • John 17:23

  • Ephesians 2:4-6

  • Ephesians 3:19

  • Jeremiah 29:11

  • Luke 15:31

  • John 14:23

  • Matthew 5:13-14

  • Hebrews 2:11

  • Jeremiah 31:34

  • John 1:12

  • Colossians 3:3 ( In God's love we are hidden from sin)

  • 1 John 4:18

  • 1 John 5:18

 

Okay, sorry! Back to the update... :)

As I stated before, this summer equaled camps and teams. How blessed am I that two churches from Virginia came to Ukraine to serve with me in short-term mission's trips?

Both of the churches have been supporting me since I expressed my desire to participate in a DTS (Discipleship Training School) with YWAM back in the summer of 2015. They have been with me since the beginning, and their lasting support leaves me speechless with a thankful heart.

One of the churches, Bethlehem Christian Church, were only able to be here for 5 days, but they left a lasting impact that will last a lifetime! Most of them had never traveled overseas, were over their 40s, and people that I never had met. By the end of their trip each one of them became like family to me. When they arrived from their long flights and lengthy layovers, after a short few hours of sleep they jumped right into cultural orientation and preparations for a camp for the kids from the Support Ukraine Ministry. Tears come to my eyes when I remember all the incredible things they had brought from across the world for the kids and me. It was not just material blessings but their willingness to help was like a cool breeze on a hot summer's day, refreshing and needed. With their hearts full of love and their hands ready to work, the camp began! What a blessing it was! The children felt the abundance of love while I know the team did as well (and so did I)! It was a week abounding in laughter and tears, silence and noise, love and thankfulness.


A mother of three children that attended the camp, approached me as the camp was coming to close. Her crystal blue eyes smiled simultaneously as tears rolled down her checks, "Morgan, I thought I came to help with this camp, but God allowed me to feel like His little child again... being held and comforted. Thank you."

Another girl that had volunteered to translate with this camp and the following camp, approached me right after the mother did. She shared how through this week she came to the realization that the job she was currently working had no purpose. She told me how she has never felt God like she did that week! Later she wrote to me, "I realized that I can be more useful for God’s kingdom. After this I decided to quit my job and started to think about participation in DTS school with YWAM." Wow! This just shows you that God moving in people is not dependent upon our emotions or feeling of accomplishment. God moves even through our weaknesses His strength is made known!



My home church, Riverbend Church, also sent a team to Ukraine this summer! So many emotions come to mind as I recall their time here. It was like having a group of cousins, uncles, and aunts coming to visit, support me, and care for me! Having them as an listening ear there to pray and encourage me, was so comforting. Another special addition was that my mom accompanied them! Unfortunately, she fell ill for the first 2-3 days of their trip with a high fever and inability to join the team for some of the planned ministries. (Thank you for those who prayed for her during this time - I was worried) Even through my mom's unexpected sickness, the team stepped up in incredible ways taking on leading ministries at the last minute. Doing all of which with a smile on their faces and determination to share God's love in their hearts. They helped/led with our YWAM English ministry, painted a playground and helped with other practical tasks at a special needs center, and spoke about kindness and transparency at a mom's outreach. Thankfully, my mom was fully recovered in time to participate in a 3-day children's camp with the Support Ukraine ministry. How special was it for my church family and mom to see and love on the children that I fell in love with when I first arrived in Ukraine! This was a camp filled with laughter, love, stories from the Bible, and fun! It was the first time ever doing a camp at the kid's home, so this team receives an A+ for flexibility for all the times the schedule changed because of the unexpected. Yet, even when things did not go according to plan, they just went with it, embracing every moment with the kids. What a joy for me to have people so close to me partnering alongside me in ministry to children from the recent conflict in Ukraine. God moved within all their hearts as He always does. Praise God that He reveals Himself to us and His children.

After our ministries were completed we spent some time in the city, joking and laughing eating all the Ukrainian candies and delicious cuisine and seeing the beautiful capital of Ukraine! Their trip to Ukraine was not just a huge blessing to the people of Ukraine, but to me personally.

 

What a privilege having these two teams from Virginia come to serve with me - I was so cared for and loved! These were just among the few I had the privilege of coordinating this summer! Teams from California, England, Holland, and two from Montana all came to serve this incredible country and what a blessing they all were. God did far more than I imagined or what I could even see, during the craziness of the summer. Thank you for your support, encouragement, and prayers!

If you have any prayer needs or just want to talk, please reach out to me. I would love to connect through email, messenger, or Skype!

Love to you all!

Morgan


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page