top of page

Bible Core Course Completed!



Dear friends and family!

 

I have officially completed the three-month Bible course with YWAM Lausanne. This past year has been a year of God shaping and molding. Though it will always be a process throughout my whole life, I appreciate that He cares enough to discipline and constantly bring loving conviction. This causes me to completely rely on His promises and His truth.

This is exactly what occurred during these three months. Through the high intensity of this school, constant transition, and the exhaustion; God revealed my weaknesses. God allowed me to see how much I need Him and His strength and how I cannot do it alone. One thing that I saw throughout all the books we were studying was the importance of others. I see how we can know God deeper through other people. We were all made in His image. I believe there is something special and specific that we learn about God through others that would not otherwise see or experience without others and it is beautiful.

It was truly a wonderful journey in the Word of God. Traveling to 6 different countries - included several charter buses, metro trips, 10 airports, hostels, hotels and campsites, experiencing new foods (the good and the bad), and walking about 2-5 miles a day with approx. 30 people. There were highs and lows but as I look back I am full of thankfulness for the amazing things that I have learned that will stay with me for a lifetime.

 

What has been either revealed, gained, and/or reiterated through this course:

  • With God’s strength I can accomplish way more than I thought possible

  • Bible illiteracy is real

  • God is a God that NEVER EVER gives up on His people

  • Tools to study the Bible deeper and share this approach with everyone with a willing ear to listen

  • A deeper love for people around me as I see that this has always been God’s heart

  • That my works for God never go unnoticed by God even if they overlooked by man

  • A desire to make God known just by the way I live my life – set apart for His work

 

We read through the entire Bible (66 books) and we studied 12 of those inductively.

The inductive method simply explained:

  • First read of the book being studied – out loud in one-sitting

  • Second read - color code that book - highlighting people, repeated words, time, and places (plus other specific items for each book)

  • Third read - make a four-word title from each paragraph from the exact words of the text.

  • Research paper- (BRI- Basic Required Information) on the authorship, the date, to whom the book was written, where it was written from, the historical background of what was occurring at the time the book was written, identifying the type of literature, summarizing the book in two sentences, and writing a personal and general application of the book.

  • Horizontal – After the titles of the paragraphs are completed after the fourth read – we break the book up into segments and then bigger divisions which creates a chart. Then creatively titling the book, locating the key verse, the law of composition, and the structure of the book.

  • Vertical – From that chart we take one segment which is usually around 1-2 chapter long we make around 8 observations and 6 interpretations. Pulling a timeless truth from that segment.


second assignment - 1 Peter (week 1)

This is the inductive method in a nut shell – it is an incredible tool to self-study the Bible and to use in preparations for teachings.

 

Ukraine!

Now I am back in Ukraine! Keeping in mind that I would be able to use what I had learned during BCC in Ukraine, enabled me to continue to persevere through the school and give 100% to every assignment.

Our base is buzzing with activity as we enter into the summer season! Our new dorms are completed and they are gorgeous! You can truly see God's provision and blessing on our new housing for guests, teams, and schools. They were in much need as our base is expanding. Unfortunately, the first week there was immediately water problems. Please, pray that they would find the source of the problem and be able to fix it quickly and inexpensively.

This summer I anticipate to be a busy one. With several teams coming during the summer months, working full time as the Team and Volunteer Coordinator is on the agenda. Excitingly enough, two of my churches from my home state will be coming to serve alongside us at YWAM Kyiv! In only a few weeks, I have the privilege of coordinating another camp for the refugee kiddos that I have grown to love so much with one of those churches! May you pray for the base and all the teams that will coming through here? My heart for these mission’s teams is that they have an amazing and life-changing experience as they bless the country of Ukraine. May you join me in prayer that they will touched through their experience and that God will encounter them like never before and vice versa for the Ukrainians they will serve? Also, for me as the coordinator, I know it requires discernment from the Holy Spirit to determine all the details that goes into setting up an outreach team. I know God will continue to guide me, especially as all the prayers from home and around the world are lifted up.

You all are truly a blessing! I would not be able to do this without you and I am so thankful for each one of you. Thank you for all the love and support!

Blessings,

Morgan


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page