top of page

YWAM-DTS Update #2



Hello Family and Friends!

The lecture phase here in Lakeside, Montana is coming to an end. These past nine weeks in DTS have changed my life. Now I am sure you have heard that before and to be honest I heard it several times from people who did a DTS. I didn't think much of it. Yet, I can honestly say it is TRUE. Having a better understanding of the Bible, who God is, and who I am, has indeed changed my heart which in turn has changed my perspective and actions.

TRACKS:

Dance track has been such an amazing experience. In dance track, we had technique classes in Contemporary, Jazz, Ballet, Hip-hop, and Worship dance. We also had lectures on What Motivates Us to Dance, Dance in Missions, and Perfectionism verses Excellence in Dance. I have learned that dance is a beautiful act of worship and also a powerful prayer and evangelistic tool. I cannot wait to take what I have learned to Ukraine.

On March 4th, our DTS hosted something called Cafe Night here at the YWAM base. Every track presented a small look into what they had learned throughout the lecture phase. My track leader choreographed a solo and I choreographed a duet. Both of which were performed at Cafe Night!

Hallelujah- Solo at Cafe Night


Lullabies- Duet at Cafe Night


OUTREACH:

Team Ukraine leaves on March 14th!!! We have been busy preparing to venture out! While we are there we will be doing home visits to different refugees, teaching English, helping at a church youth group, evangelizing on the streets, doing children ministry, leading worship and church services, and hosting a camp for refugee teenagers. I am beyond blessed to even have this opportunity to minister to these people! My team and I cannot wait to see the amazing things the Lord will do through us!

EXCITING NEWS:

I would like to tell you a story which will lead up to my exciting news! A few weeks into lecture phase we were having a time of intercession for the Fall Discipleship Training School. We all split into groups, and each group prayed for a different outreach team. I was a part of the Nepal group and they mentioned that one of the girls was going to stay an extra month. After I heard that, I prayed, "God, if you ever asked me to something like that, I am willing." My DTS leaders never mentioned anything about that being a possibility for our school. Therefore, it left my mind. This past Tuesday, I was to give a gospel/testimony presentation. Right before I gave my presentation, our school leader states that there is an opportunity to stay longer in your outreach location. The moment she said that I felt a stirring in my heart and I was instantly reminded of my prayer during intercession. As she stated this, I was in Ukrainian attire about to share my presentation veered towards Ukrainian college kids. The first four sentences of my presentation were in Ukrainian! At night lecture the very same day, we were all praying on our own and I prayed, “Lord, please give me blunt confirmation that I am indeed supposed to stay in Ukraine longer. I do not want to stay just out of MY own desire." Seconds after that prayer, a friend comes up to me and says, "Morgan, I feel like the Lord wants you to know that the heart you have for the Ukrainian people was put there by God and it's HIS desire for you to stay there longer." I was blown away! Since then, I discussed it with my school leaders, my parents, and my Pastor and they are prayerfully on board with this decision. I will arrive back home sometime at the beginning of June instead of the beginning of May. Even though I will not be coming back with my outreach team for de-brief week, see the other teams again, and be away longer from all of you, I know the Lord has a purpose and I could not be more willing to fulfill it!

PRAYER REQUESTS:

-Safe travels for each outreach team (India, Taiwan, & Ukraine)

-Guidance for our team

-Many opportunities to spread the Gospel to the unreached people

-Prayer against fear once my outreach team leaves Ukraine

P.S. I miss every one of you sooo much!!!

Love to all!

Morgan Ognibene


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page